Dr. Carter Elected AAAS Fellow

Dr. C. Barry Carter, Department Head of Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering, has been  named a 2011 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). AAAS is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world. The organization’s scope includes publication of Science magazine and educational and policy initiatives.   

Two other members of the UConn community were also elected Fellows: Dr. Douglas L. Oliver, a professor of Neuroscience at the UConn Health Center, and Dr. Dipak K. Dey, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Statistics and Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Carter is a Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America (MSA), the Materials Research Society (MRS) and the American Ceramic Society.  He is also an elected member of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE).

Dr. Carter was honored by AAAS for his distinguished contributions to engineering through his textbooks on ceramic materials and transmission electron microscopy, his editorial leadership, which includes his service as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Materials Science, and his study of crystal defects.  His textbooks, Ceramic Materials: Science & Engineering (co-written with M.G. Norton; 2007) and Transmission Electron Microscopy: A Textbook for Materials Science (co-written with D.B. Williams; 2nd ed., 2009), have been concurrently listed on Springer’s 15 most downloaded books on chemistry and materials science.  He has published more than 700 articles on a wide range of crystal defects, with 300 in archival journals.

His awards include the Berndt Matthias Scholar Award (Los Alamos National Laboratory), Alexander von Humboldt Senior Award, and a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship. In addition, he serves as President of IFSM, the International Federation of Societies for Microscopy, and is a past president of the Microscopy Society of America.

Before joining UConn in 2007, Dr. Carter was the 3M Harry Heltzer Endowed Chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and a professor in the Chemical Physics Program at the University of Minnesota. He earned his D. Phil. in Metallurgy & Science of Materials at Oxford University in 1975, and in 2005 he received the Sc.D. degree in Natural Sciences from Cambridge University.

Categories: American Association for the Advancement of Science, award, Biomolecular Engineering, chemical engineering, emagination, Faculty, Headline, Materials Engineering, Materials Science