• Homepage
  •   /  
  • Category: Army Research Office (ARO)

Category: Momentum

CASE Honors Four UConn Engineers

Three faculty members were inducted into the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering on May 22 during a gala event: Drs. Thomas Barber, Wilson K. S. Chiu and Mei Wei are among 33 new members who were elected in the 2013 class. In addition, alumnus Dr. Anthony DeMaria received the 2013 CASE Distinguished Service Award for his enduring contributions to the Academy as a charter member, fourth president and past-president.

read more

Two UConn Engineering Faculty Selected Chair Professors

Dean of Engineering Mun Y. Choi of the University of Connecticut announced that two faculty members have been honored with distinguished chair faculty positions in the School of Engineering.

read more

Seniors Prove Mettle at Design Expo

On Friday, April 30th, graduating seniors showcased the culminating projects of their undergraduate years in a once-yearly expo that draws visitors from across the region. This year, for the first time, Senior Design Demonstration day was staged in the venerable Wilbur Cross building. There, scores of student teams discussed their projects, demonstrated prototype models and enthused about the experience of solving real-world engineering challenges.

read more

Claire Weiss Wins SMART Scholarship

Claire Weiss, a doctoral student in Materials Science & Engineering, has won a coveted scholarship under the Science, Mathematics, and Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship for Service Program. Claire was one of approximately 200 students to capture the competitive award, from among 1,500 applicants. She is advised by Dr. Pamir Alpay, an associate professor in […]

read more

Seniors Demo Novel Design Projects

Spring days on the Storrs campus are bustling and often intense as students complete their coursework and finish projects in preparation for final exams. One of the most important and defining spring rites is the capstone engineering Senior Design Expo, which took place this year on Friday, May 1 across four buildings. The demonstrations are […]

read more

School Names UTC Professors in Engineering Innovation

Dean of Engineering Mun Y. Choi recently announced the selection of four faculty members to receive the United Technologies Corporation (UTC) Professorship in Engineering Innovation award. The recipients include Drs. Emmanouil Anagnostou of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Jun-Hong Cui of Computer Science & Engineering; Shengli Zhou of Electrical & Computer Engineering; and K.S. Wilson Chiu […]

read more

Fuel Cell Research Attracted Ph.D. Student Kyle Grew

Graduate student Kyle Grew, a native of the farm belt state of Ohio, came to UConn in 2005 to pursue his doctoral studies after earning his B.S. in mechanical engineering at the University of Dayton, OH. Reason for Coming to UConn: “While finishing up my B.S. degree, I was becoming interested in advanced energy systems […]

read more

Wilson Chiu Receives ASME Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award

Dr. Wilson K.S. Chiu, associate professor of Mechanical Engineering, was awarded the 2006 ASME Bergles- Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer for “research in computational and experimental heat transfer, particularly chemical vapor deposition systems.” The award recognizes young engineers who are committed to pursuing research in heat transfer, with the potential to make significant […]

read more

Accorsi Brings Leadership to CEE Department

In June 2006, following a departmental search, professor Michael Accorsi was appointed Head of the Civil & Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department. He succeeded professor Erling Smith, who served as Head for six years before accepting the position of Interim Dean of the School of Engineering. The CEE department is home to 18 faculty members and […]

read more

Wilson Chiu Captures Three Major Awards

Dr. Wilson K.S. Chiu, assistant professor of Mechanical Engineering, recently received an Army Research Office (ARO) Young Investigator Award. Dr. Chiu won the $150,000 three-year award for his proposed work in the area of optimization of solid oxide fuel cells (SOFCs) for field use by Army personnel. He explained that the Army is keenly interested […]

read more