Drs. McEvily And Carter Elected Society Fellows

Drs. Arthur J. McEvily and C. Barry Carter have been elected Fellows of respected professional societies. Both will be inducted in July.

graphicDr. McEvily, a professor emeritus of metallurgy, was elected a 2009 Fellow of the International Congress on Fracture (ICF) in recognition of his “contributions to the understanding of fatigue mechanisms and processes in structural alloys.” He will be officially honored during the conference of ICF in Ottawa as one of only 52 living Fellows.

Dr. McEvily is recognized across the globe as an authority on fatigue and fracture of metals and alloys. His most important contributions include his 1957 demonstration — with Walter Illg — that crack growth rate, da/dN, could be expressed as a function of the parameter KTσ, assuming a crack-like, elliptical, sharp flaw, where KT is the stress concentration factor. Dr. McEvily has also highlighted the importance of cross-slip in fatigue, and has developed various constitutive relations for fatigue crack growth, including overloads and environmental effects.

After receiving his D.Sc. from Columbia University in 1959, Dr. McEvily worked as an Aeronautical Research Scientist at NASA in Langley, VA and later served as Head of the Solid State Physics Section. He then worked as a Research Scientist at Ford Motor Company for six years before joining UConn as Head of the Metallurgy Department (67-78). He has authored or co-authored more than 240 papers and two books, including the 2002 textbook, Metal Failures — Mechanisms, Analysis, Prevention (Wiley-Interscience).

Dr. McEvily previously received the Henry Marion Howe Medal of American Society for Metals (ASM) in 1964 and became a Fellow in 1975. In 1983, he was awarded the Nadai Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and was elected a Fellow in 1995. His honors also include the Award of the Mechanics and Materials Division of the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers (JSME, 1992), Honorary Fellow and Life Member of International Fatigue Congress (1995) and Egleston Medal from the Columbia University (1996). In 2006, the ASM/TMS Mechanical Behavior of Materials Committee sponsored a symposium in honor of Dr. McEvily’s 80th birthday, on the subject “Fatigue and Fracture of Traditional and Advanced Materials.”

graphicDr. Carter, Head of the Department of Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering (CMBE), was elected a Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America (MSA). It is the first year MSA has recognized the Fellow designation, and Dr. Carter will be formally inducted during the Microscopy & Microanalysis 2009 Conference.

MSA is dedicated to the promotion and advancement of the knowledge of the science and practice of all microscopical imaging, analysis and diffraction techniques useful for elucidating the ultrastructure and function of materials in diverse areas of biological, materials, medical and physical sciences.

His research interests include interfaces and defects in ceramics and semiconductors, and with his graduate students, he is currently exploring the role of interface and defect chemistry on properties of materials for solid-oxide fuel cells (SOFC). Dr. Carter is a co-author of two textbooks, co-Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Materials Science and co-author of Transmission Electron Microscopy: a Textbook for Materials Science and Ceramic Materials: Science & Engineering (2007). His awards include the Berndt Matthias Scholar Award (Los Alamos National Laboratory), Alexander von Humboldt Senior Award, and a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship. In addition, he serves as General Secretary of IFSM, the International Federation of Societies for Microscopy, and is a past president of the Microscopy Society of America. In addition to MSA, he is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society and MRS.

Before joining UConn in 2007, Dr. Carter was the 3M Harry Heltzer Endowed Chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and a professor in the Chemical Physics Program at the University of Minnesota. He earned his D. Phil. in Metallurgy & Science of Materials at Oxford University in 1975, and in 2005 he received the Sc.D. degree in Natural Sciences from Cambridge University.