Eight UConn Researchers Elected to Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

By: Jessica McBride, Office of the Vice President for Research

Eight researchers from UConn and UConn Health have been recognized by the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) as some of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology. The nonprofit, public-service institution patterned after the National Academy of Sciences elected a total of 24 new members from various institutions of higher education and from industry, including UConn, Yale University and United Technologies Corporation.

Election to the Academy is based on scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.

“The fact that UConn and UConn Health researchers make up a third of the 2018 CASE electees speaks to the preeminence and innovative nature of their work,” says Radenka Maric, vice president for research at UConn and UConn Health. “From scientific breakthroughs, to longstanding collaborations with industry, to being dedicated educators – these faculty are truly remarkable, and we are thrilled that they are being recognized for their accomplishments.”

The new UConn and UConn Health members come from the College of Liberal Arts and Science, the School of Engineering, and the School of Medicine, including;

  • Gordon Carmichael, Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences, UConn Health
  • Richard Christenson, Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
  • Horea T. Ilies, Department Head, Mechanical Engineering and Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Computer Science, School of Engineering, UConn
  • Yu Lei, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
  • Laurent D. Michel, Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, and Co-Director, Voting Technology Research Center, School of Engineering, UConn
  • Akiko Nishiyama, Professor, Physiology and Neurobiology, UConn
  • Ranjan Srivastava, Professor and Department Head, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
  • Bing Wang, Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn

With six out of the eight elected coming from the UConn School of Engineering, Dean Kazem Kazerounian noted that the amount of members elected is a sign of the top-notch talent assembled at UConn:

“It’s clear that as a university, we have a considerable amount of top, talented scientists and engineers, who are making significant contributions in their respective fields,” Kazerounian said. “To have six of our own faculty members elected to CASE this year not only shows the strength and real-world implications of their research, but also points to the time they have spent mentoring students, the reverence they hold among their peers, and the impact they have made on the state and beyond.”

The 2018 class of CASE inductees will be introduced at the Academy’s 43rd Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 24, 2018.

The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being. For more information about the Academy, please visit www.ctcase.org.

Categories: Faculty, Front Page, Headline, UConn Engineering News March 2018