Five Engineering Faculty Elected to CASE

Five engineering faculty members have been elected to membership in the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE). They will be inducted during the CASE annual meeting, to take place May 20th at the New England Air Museum, Windsor Locks. The new members-elect are:

  • Mark Aindow, professor of Materials Science in the Department of Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Amvrossios Bagtzoglou, professor and incoming Department Head of Civil & Environmental Engineering, and Director of the Environmental Engineering Program
  • Mun Y. Choi, Dean of Engineering and professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Monty Escabi, associate professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Cato Laurencin, Dean of the School of Medicine, Vice President for Health Affairs, Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Chair and professor of Chemical Engineering in the Department of Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering

“The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering is pleased to recognize UConn’s newly elected members of the Academy. Election to the Academy is based upon scientific or engineering distinction achieved through significant original contributions in theory or applications and/or unusual accomplishments in the pioneering of new and developing fields of applied science and technology,” said Myron Genel, CASE President.

Membership is limited to 250 scientists and engineers from Connecticut’s academic, industrial and industrial communities. As a group, members identify and study issues and technological advances of concern to Connecticut residents and provide unbiased, expert advice on science- and technology-related issues to state government and other Connecticut institutions.

In addition to the five engineering faculty members elected to CASE this year were an additional four individuals affiliated with the University of Connecticut: J. Peter Gogarten, a professor of Molecular and Cell Biology; Bruce Liang, Director of the Pat and Jim Calhoun Cardiology Center, Chief of the Division of Cardiology, and Ray Neag Distinguished Professor of Vascular Biology and Cardiology at the UConn Health Center; Pieter Visscher, professor and Director of the Center for Integrative Geosciences; and Robert Whitlach, professor of Marine Sciences.