Three Faculty Elected to CASE

Three UConn engineering faculty members have been elected to membership in the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) in honor of their career accomplishments. They are among 19 individuals elected to the 2008 class. They will be inducted during the Academy’s 33rd annual meeting on May 21st at the New Haven Lawn Club.

The newly elected UConn engineering faculty members include:


Michael L. Accorsi
Department Head and Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering



Baki M. Cetegen
Department Head and Professor
Mechanical Engineering



Kazem Kazerounian
Mechanical Engineering


“The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering is pleased to recognize UConn’s newly elected members of the Academy. Election to the Academy is based upon scientific or engineering distinction achieved through significant original contributions in theory or applications and/or unusual accomplishments in the pioneering of new and developing fields of applied science and technology. We are very proud of this year’s newly elected members and are pleased to celebrate their accomplishments through their election to the Academy,” said Alan C. Eckbreth, CASE President.

Membership is limited to 250 scientists and engineers from Connecticut’s academic, industrial and industrial communities. As a group, members identify and study issues and technological advances of concern to Connecticut residents and provide unbiased, expert advice on science- and technology-related issues to state government and other Connecticut institutions.

In addition to the three engineering faculty members, other newly elected CASE members from UConn include William Fitzgerald, Distinguished Professor of Marine Sciences at Avery Point; Leo LeFrancois, professor of Immunology at the UCHC; Leslie M. Loew, professor of Cell Biology at the UCHC; and Charles Yarish, professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology. The new class of inductees will also include Michael McQuade, Senior Vice President of Science & Technology at UTC and a stalwart supporter of the UConn School of Engineering.

Categories: Alumni, Alumni and Faculty, Alumnus, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Civil Engineering, Department Head and Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering, Headline